Warning: finfo_file(//googleads.g.doubleclick.net/pagead/viewthroughconversion/1001149963/?value=0&label=El64CI3N0AQQi6yx3QM&guid=ON&script=0): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/nhlibe5/public_html/dwilawsnh.com/plugins/system/rokbooster/lib/RokBooster/Compressor/File.php on line 446
Second Offense DWI Penalties New Hampshire DUI

NH DUI GUYServing all of N.H. Offices Nashua, Manchester, Concord, Portsmouth Call 24/7:  (603) 821-0319

Second Offense DWI Penalties New Hampshire DUI

If you are found guilty of second offense DWI, YOU WILL GO TO JAIL. It does not matter what your situation is. The only question that will remain is how long will you to jail for. The way to not go to jail, is to not be found guilty of a second offense DWI. Attorney Hynes has successfully obtain many dismissals on subsequent offense DWI cases. Sometimes a plea can be reached on a "fake-first" DWI which will also keep you out of jail and often have a much lesser license loss.

Another way to stay out of jail is to get a previous offense vacated/set aside. This is incredibly difficult to do, and usually can only be accomplished if you plead guilty without a lawyer.

The State also has to prove there was a previous conviction within the last 10 years. If the conviction was from another State a good DWI lawyer may be able to show it should not count.

The best way to stay out of jail and avoid the 3 year license loss is to be found not guilty of the DWI.

Second Offense DWI (When first offense was within 10 years of date of second offense)

Class A Misdemeanor

Fine: at least $930.

Mandatory Jail time 5 days, up to 1 year in jail. An additional 12 days of jail is suspended upon enrolling in the alcohol program within 30 days of release from jail.

Loss of License 3+ years.

Major violation toward Habitual Offender law.

SR-22 insurance for three years from date of license restoration.

20 Hour Impaired Driver Education Program (IDEP). The cost is around $700. It must be completed before your license is returned.

 

Second offense with First Offense within 2 Years of Date of Conviction for First Offense

Class A Misdemeanor

Fine: At least $930.

Mandatory Jail time 30 days, up to 1 year in jail. An additional 30 days of jail is suspended upon enrolling in the alcohol program within 30 days of release from jail.

Major violation toward Habitual Offender law.

SR-22 insurance for three years from date of license restoration.

Interlock Device required for 1-2 years upon license reinstatement.

20 Hour Impaired Driver Education Program (IDEP). The cost is around $700. It must be completed before your license is returned.

 

Disclaimer: Past results do not guarantee a future outcome. Results include cases in both Massachusetts and New Hampshire. Attorney Dan Hynes is admitted to practice law only in Massachusetts and New Hampshire. This website may be considered advertising. Contacting us does not create an attorney/client relationship and the information on this site is not legal advice and may be inaccurate or not applicable to your case. Each case is different.

Mailing Address: Dan Hynes PO BOX 598 Merrimack, NH 03054